This system was created to allow sharing of files that are too large to send by e-mail. DO NOT USE THIS SYSTEM FOR BACKUPS OR PERMANENT STORAGE. The files on the brownbox are not backed up or archived. Quotas are currently set to 10GB per user, if you need a larger quota than this, please contact support@ccv.brown.edu

Uploading a file to your Dropbox

After you have logged in, you are presented with a page that will allow you to upload your files to your dropbox account. To get started, click on the "Browse..." button, and choose a file to upload. Once you have a file selected, you should see it's name in the box next to the browse button. At this point you can upload your file, but there are several options you can select as well.


  • Require Brown NetID to Download - If this is selected, a user has to be logged into the Dropbox in order to download your file. At this time only Brown affiliates can log onto the Dropbox, so this will limit download to people within the Brown community.
  • Password Protect - If this is selected, anyone who wishes to download your file will be required to first enter this password. When you click on this box, a new box will appear that will allow you to enter a password.
  • Description - This allows you to add a simple one line description to your file. You will be the only one who sees this, so it is only useful to help you keep track of what files you have on the Dropbox.
  • Upload - When you click the upload button, your file is uploaded to the Dropbox server. When the upload has completed, the server will show you a URL that you or anyone else can use to access that file.

Sending your file to others

Every time you upload a file to the Dropbox, a unique URL is created for that file. It will look something like this:

https://dropbox.brown.edu/download.php?hash=1234567

To use that URL, simply highlight the text, copy it, and paste it into an e-mail. When someone clicks on that link, they will automatically start downloading your file. At the bottom of the page is a list of all the files you have uploaded. You can click on the name of the file and download it directly. You can use the URL next to the name of the file to allow others to download.

Your Uploaded Files

This area lets you see the files you have uploaded, get the URL for those files, and delete unwanted file from the dropbox. The first line show how many files you have in your Dropbox, and how much disk space is currently being used. You can click on File, Date and Size to sort the files accordingly.


After you have uploaded one or more files they are listed as shown in the above picture. Each file in the list has the following information:
  • Description - If you entered a description for your file, moving your mouse over this Icon will show you the description.
  • File - This is the name of the file you uploaded.
  • URL - This is the URL you can give to others to download your file.
  • Login - This shows a check mark if a user needs to log in to the Dropbox to download the file.
  • Password - This shows a check mark if a user needs provide a password to download the file.
  • Date - This shows the date the file was uploaded.
  • Size - This shows the size of the file you uploaded.
  • Delete - This lets you remove the file from the Dropbox, to free up space. Files are automatically deleted after 30 days.

Creating upload links to your Dropbox

There are occasions when you would like a collaborator outside of Brown to send you a file. You can create an upload URL that will allow someone to upload a file to your Dropbox. Note that they will not be able to see existing files in your Dropbox. To create an upload URL, select "GUEST USER UPLOAD" on the right hand side. This will bring you to the guest user upload page. There is a single button on this page:

After you click this button, a URL is created that looks very much like the download URL:

https://dropbox.brown.edu/external_upload.php?hash=1234567

Copy this URL, and e-mail it to your collaborator. When they follow this link, they can upload a file to your Dropbox in the same method used above. Once the file has been uploaded, it will appear in your list of files.

On the same page you will see all the upload links you have created. These are one-time upload links, and after they are used, they will be disappear from this list. If your guest has multiple files to send you, they will either have to use a zip or compression method to combine the files into one file, or you will have to create multiple upload links for them to use.